David G. Imig Distinguished Service Award 

Imig awardAbout the Award 

The Carnegie Project on the Education Doctorate’s David G. Imig Distinguished Service Award is presented in recognition of an individual who has demonstrated important contributions to the Vision and Mission of CPED and/or the reclaiming of the EdD as the highest quality professional practice doctorate in education.  

Eligibility and Selection 

The recipient of this award will be a faculty member, administrator, student or graduate of a CPED member university. The recipient will have contributed significantly to improving the professional doctorate in education (EdD) either at their home institution or within the CPED Consortium.  

The Imig Award is presented at the annual Convening of CPED. Individuals may not nominate themselves. Any CPED member – student, administrator, faculty or graduates—may be nominated by a fellow colleague. 

Nominations should include the following submitted as one PDF document:

  • Nomination cover letter
  • CV of nominated faculty
  • Letters of support 
  • Supporting materials (articles, publications, etc.)

The selection criteria include evidence of distinguished contributions that advance the CPED Mission and Vision and/or the reclaiming of the EdD through: 

  • Leadership within CPED or a CPED-influenced program redesign. 

  • Teaching and advising in a CPED-influenced EdD program.  

  • Scholarship related to CPED or a CPED-influenced EdD program.  

  • Demonstration of Scholarly-Practice by CPED-influenced program student or graduate.

  • Nominator and awardee must both attend 2020 virtual CPED convening.

Call for nominations for the 2022 award will be announced later.

Award Recipients

2021 - Dr. Jennifer Fellabaum-Toston, University of Missouri

2021 David G. Imig Distinguished Service Award Winner: Dr. Jennifer Fellabaum-Toston from CPED Initiative on Vimeo.

2020 - Dr. Ray Buss, Arizona State University

2020 CPED David G. Imig Distinguished Service Award Reflection - Ray Buss from CPED Initiative on Vimeo.

2020 - Dr. Lauri Johnson, Boston College

2020 CPED David G. Imig Distinguished Service Award Winner Reflection - Lauri Johnson from CPED Initiative on Vimeo.

2019 - Dr. Edmund "Ted" Hamann, University of Nebraska - Lincoln

Dr. Edmund "Ted: Hamann being presented the Imig Award

2018 - Dr. Debby Zambo, Arizona State University

CPED Executive Director Jill Perry presenting the Imig Award to Debby Zambo

2017 - Dr. David G. Imig, University of Maryland

Dr. David Imig being presented with the inaugural David G. Imig Distinguished Service Award