Program of the Year Award

Recognizing EdD Program Excellence, Innovation, Impact, and Alignment with the CPED Framework

2023 program of the year logo

Program of the Year Award
POY 2023:  Transforming Programs to Serve the Scholarly Practitioner
The POY award is given to one or more outstanding CPED member institutions whose programming demonstrates excellence, innovation, impact, and alignment with the CPED Framework to promote continuous improvement within varied local contexts. Following the original intent of CPED to develop “proofing sites” (Imig et al., 2009), this award acknowledges a CPED-influenced program that is exemplary in how future “stewards of practice” are prepared to foster a more just and equitable world, be that in their local communities or across the globe. The winner will be announced at the #CPED23 Convening in October 2023.  
PoY award winners serve as beacons for member institutions, and award recipient journeys become part of CPED’s institutional knowledge base. There are a variety of ways in which award recipients contribute to this knowledge base:
  • Presentations and learning exchanges
  • Articles
  • Supporting future year PoY awards through participation on the PoY Committee.
The Program of the Year Award is guided by a committee representing nine member institutions. Each year this committee determines a focal point for the award, as well as quality indicators that will guide its selection process.  The quality indicators are described in a rubric that includes components for the preliminary and final applications.  The application process has two phases. Phase one consists of an initial application that explains how the program and its transformative elements meet institutional and CPED alignment as a condition for an invitation to submit a full application. Those who meet this threshold will be invited to submit a full application, focused only on the transformation itself and its impact on the institution, its faculty, its students, and its community. A full timeline for PoY 2023 is as follows:
Award Evaluation Timeline
  • February 6th: Initial applications due 
  • March 1st: Invitations for final applications
  • June 1st: Final applications due
  • August 1st: Award Decision
  • October: Award Presentation at the #CPED23 Convening
    • Presentation Video for Award Ceremony
    • Learning Exchange Session

Questions?  Ask your POY 2023 Committee leads:  Harriette Rasmussen or Kyle Ingle. 

Keep the learning going!  We look forward to your application.

The POY 2023 Committee

Imig, D., Perry, J.A., & Syed, S. (2009). Creating rubrics for the assessment of the Ed.D.: Narrative report to the Spencer Foundation. College Park, MD: Carnegie Project on the Education Doctorate.

Program of the Year Winners

2022: Baylor University and Northeastern University

2022 PoY Recipient: Northeastern University 2022 PoY Recipient: Baylor University

2021: Western Carolina University - Education Doctorate in Educational Leadership

CPED 2021 POY Video from CPED Initiative on Vimeo.

2020: University of Florida - Education Doctorate in Teachers, Schools, and Society

2020 CPED Program of the Year Award - University of Florida EdD in Teachers, Schools, and Society from CPED Initiative on Vimeo.

2019: Drexel University - Doctorate of Education in Educational Leadership and Management

Drexel University EdD faculty winning the Program of the Year Award

2018: Arizona State University - EdD in Leadership and InnovationThe University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa - Education Doctorate in Professional  Educational Practice

2018 Program of the Year Award Winners

2017: University of Missouri Statewide EdD Program

University of Missouri Statewide EdD 2017 Program of the Year Award Winner