News & Press: About CPED

University of Missouri Awarded Inaugural CPED Program of the Year Award​​

Thursday, July 13, 2017   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Carolyn Carlins
Share |

University of Missouri Awarded Inaugural CPED Program of the Year Award

On June 13, 2017, Amy Wells Dolan (Mississippi) and Elan Paulson (Western) were thrilled to present Jennifer Fellabaum-Toston (University of Missouri, Statewide Cooperative) with the inaugural CPED Program of the Year Award for 2017.

Established in 1997, the University of Missouri Statewide Cooperative is a twenty-year endeavor involving Northwest Missouri State University, University of Central Missouri, Missouri State University, Southeast Missouri State University, and the University of Missouri. This statewide collaborative admits Ed.D. cohorts of ninety students every two years, enrolling professionals with PK-12 and Higher Education backgrounds but also bringing in those with non-profit, military, theology, public health, and corporate experience.

The University of Mississippi Statewide Cooperative stood out to the committee for the thoughtful design of curriculum and integration of CPED principles and design concepts, such as the signature pedagogy of collaborative teaching and learning vital to the Cooperative’s organization and structure. In addition, the nomination provided strong transparency of data around program assessment and impact on students, discussing for example, improvement efforts used to enhance degree completion and to decrease time-to-degree among newer cohorts.
The selection process took place in two phases. First, the Program of the Year (POY) committee received initial applications that briefly described how nominated programs responded to their institution’s contexts and reflected the CPED Vision and Framework. Second, half of the initial applicants were invited to submit a full application with more evidence of program quality, continuous improvement, meaningful impact on students’ practice and communities, and leadership in CPED. Every one of the programs nominated were unique and outstanding in their own way, and deserve acknowledgment for their excellent work. Finalists invited for full submission along with the Missouri Statewide Cooperative included Arizona State University, California State University – Fresno, California State University – East Bay, and the University of Southern California Rossier.

The committee strove to ensure their processes were collaborative, iterative, and self-reflexive in refining criteria for program selection, returning often to Jill Perry and David Imig’s notion of the “proofing site” for guidance. In this way, POY committee members saw first-hand how 10 years of re-design efforts have resulted in the formation and delivery of truly outstanding CPED-influenced programs.

Thanks goes to the committee members who put the time and effort commensurate with the distinction of this award: Miriam Ezzani, University of North Texas; Amy Wells Dolan, University of Mississippi; Chris Ray, North Dakota State University; Charlene
Trovato, University of Pittsburgh; Judith Munter, San Francisco State University; Jason Laker, San Jose State University; Vance Randall, Brigham Young University; and Elan Paulson, Western University (Canada). The CPED team gave input and support to the POY committee every step of the way.

A call for new POY committee members will be issued shortly. A call for 2018 POY Award applications will be issued at the Fall convening.


Carnegie Project on the Education Doctorate (CPED)
Headquartered @ The University of Pittsburgh School of Education
5522 Posvar Hall - 230 S. Bouquet Street - Pittsburgh, PA 15260   +1 (412) 648-7428