This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
News & Press: About CPED

Announcing Award Winners!

Wednesday, May 29, 2019   (0 Comments)
Posted by: CPED
Share |

Announcing Award Winners!
Each year the Carnegie Project on the Education Doctorate (CPED) offers several awards to recognize the accomplishments of its member programs, students and faculty. Both the Program of the Year Award and the David G. Imig Distinguished Service Award will be presented at the 2019 June CPED Convening at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln, June 10-12th.


Program of the Year Award Winner
Drexel University
EdD in Educational Leadership and Management

The Drexel University EdD (Philadelphia, PA) utilizes a pervasive set of practices intentionally designed to prepare scholarly practitioners to think, to perform, and to act with integrity. Unlike programs that have been redesigned to align with the guiding principles of CPED, the Drexel EdD program was designed by a core team of the Drexel School of Education faculty in 2008 – 2009 based on the Carnegie Project and Shulman et al.’s (2006) framing for differentiated EdD programs. The design itself was innovative. Drexel’s was the first hybrid (blended) EdD program design approved by the Pennsylvania Department of Education (PDE). 

Row 1: Penny Hammrich, Dean; Kathy Geller, EdD Program Director, Deanna Hill, (incoming) EdD Program Director; Tina Marie Coolidge, Program Manager Row 2: Aroutis Foster, Interim Associate Dean for Academic and Graduate Affairs; Allen Grant, Department Chairperson Policy, Organization & Leadership; Janet Sloand, Department Chairperson, Teaching& Learning; Rajashi Ghosh, Ph.D. Program Director Row 3: Joy Phillips, Professor for Dissertation Supervision; Kristine Lewis Grant, EdD Advisory Committee; Kristen Betts EdD Advisory Committee; Joyce Pittman, Professor for Dissertation Supervision Row 4: Vera Lee, EdD Advisory Committee; Sal Falletta, EdD Advisory Committee; José Chávez

David G. Imig Distinguished Service Award Winner

Dr. Edmund 'Ted" Hamann

Ted is a faculty member in the Department of Teaching, Learning, & Teacher Education (TLTE) at University of Nebraska Lincoln (UNL) and has been part of UNL CPED efforts from the beginning back in 2007. Since then, starting with UNL's first cohort in 2009, Ted has been integral to each new cohort successfully ‘getting off the ground.' While that contribution has helped EdD graduation rates substantially improve. His dedication to cohering the EdD led to a deep understanding of the process of change CPED students experienced. He then leveraged these early lessons to his more recent leadership role within the program. In 2015, UNL's fourth CPED cohort began with only four students, clearly inadequate for a sustainable program. So, in 2016, when Ted became our CPED coordinator, he began a systemic recruitment blitz and brought in 19 new practitioners for the fifth cohort and now 20 for our sixth. He also recruited new faculty to support the program. In short, under Ted’s coordination, UNL's EdD efforts went from being perilously close to elimination to TLTE’s most robust graduate program.


About the Program of the Year and Imig Awards
The Program of the Year (POY) award is given annually to institutions whose CPED-influenced programs show themselves to be distinctive, innovative, and useful to other CPED members. In other words, this award is not intended to identify a so-called “best” program among CPED members, but rather offer evidence of a proofing site that lifts up and features a program’s approaches and components that might stimulate change and innovation among other CPED-influenced programs. This year the award will be presented to Drexel University's EdD in Educational Leadership and ManagementThe David G. Imig Distinguished Service award is presented in recognition of an individual who has demonstrated important contributions to the Vision and Mission of CPED and/or the reclaiming of the EdD as the highest quality professional practice doctorate in education. This year, the award will be presented to Dr. Edmund 'Ted" Hamann.