News & Press: For Members

2017 DIP Award Winner Announced

Thursday, September 28, 2017   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Carolyn Carlins
Share |

Announcing the
2017 CPED
Dissertation in Practice of the Year Award

The 2017 CPED Dissertation in Practice of the Year Award winners are:

Drs. Camela S. Diaz, Melody L. Strang, Amanda L. Unger, and Sarah G. Van’t Hof of Michigan State University for their Dissertation in Practice entitled, Utilizing the Design Thinking Process to Aid Educators in their Response to Childhood Lead Exposure, chaired by Dr. Madeline Mavrogordato and Dr. Susan Printy.

The Dissertation in Practice written by a group of Education Doctorate graduates from Michigan State University has been recognized by the Carnegie Project on the Education Doctorate (CPED) as the 2017 exemplar Dissertation in Practice. This is the second group DiP to be awarded, and the first to use design-based methodologies.

Through a collaborative, authentic process, members of CPED developed a Framework for EdD program design/redesign that supports creating quality, rigorous practitioner preparation while honoring the local context of each member institution. One aspect of this Framework is the Dissertation in Practice, a scholarly endeavor that impacts a complex problem of practice (CPED, 2010).

To judge submissions, a committee comprised of five faculty members representing five different university members utilized a set of CPED-defined criteria that distinguishes the dissertation of scholarly practitioners as a work grounded in high-quality research with the potential to impact educational practice.

The winners will be recognized at the CPED Convening to be held in Oakland, California and hosted by California State University East Bay and San Jose State University on October 30-November 1st.

For more information about the award and CPED, visit the CPED website: Past award winners and a database of CPED DiPs can also be found here.